Sol Hoopii is considered to be one of the greatest Hawaiian steel guitar players ever. He was the first Hawaiian guitarist to incorporate jazz improvisation into his playing and his style was very influential to other steel guitarists in all genres, including early western swing electric steel players. These recordings he made on acoustic steel guitar with his Novelty Quartette are the last before he switched to the electric guitar and represent the pinnacle of his performing skill. This compilation includes 24 tracks, many of which have never been reissued, and the sound quality is far superior to all previous reissues of his music. This CD is a must for all fans of Hawaiian music, western swing, and early jazz guitar. These are historical recordings, made in 1933 and 1934.(メーカーインフォより)

01. I Like You
02. Drifting and Dreaming
03. I Want Someone to Love Me
04. King’s Serenade
05. King Kamehameha (take A)
06. Kolo Pa
07. Don’t Stop Loving Me
08. Akaka Falls
09. My Little Grass Shack in Kealakekua Hawaii
10. Weave a Lei – Flower Lei
11. An Orange Grove in California
12. Aloha Beloved
13. The Lei Vendor
14. On Our Parting Day
15. There’s Nothing Else to Do In Ma-La-Ka-Mo-Ka-Lu
16. My Hawaiian Queen
17. Midnight’s Near
18. Hula Girl
19. Hula Blues
20. Under the Tropical Moon
21. Ten Tiny Toes – One Baby Nose
22. Oh! Lady be Good!
23. King Kamehameha (take B)
24. It’s Hard to Say Good-Bye

go top