MACHITO & His Afro cubans / RELAX & MAMBO

1. Relax And Mambo
2. Sopa De Pichon
3. Tingo Talango
4. La Paella
5. No Noise
6. Mango Mangue
7. Okiedoke
8. Tanga
9. Mambo, Mucho Mambo
10. Si Si, No No
11. Jungle Drums
12. Asia Minor (Armenian Rhumba)
13. Un Poquito De Tu Amor
14. Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite: I. Cancion
15. Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite: II. Mambo
16. Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite: III. 6/8
17. Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite: IV. Jazz
18. Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite: V. Rhumba Abierta
19. Mamboscope
20. Consternacion
21. Feeding The Chickens
22. Mambo Sentimental
Total 76:34 original mono recordings 1942-1954

*中古盤 / 新品同様です!

More authentic and progressive than the pop-oriented orchestras of Xavier Cugat, Desi Arnaz, and Edmundo Ros, Machito’s Afro-Cubans combined the excitement of undiluted Caribbean dance music with the bracing edginess of early modern jazz. Living Era’s Relax & Mambo draws upon the years 1942-1953, extending the time line slightly further than Proper’s box set Ritmo Caliente (14 of these tracks appear on the Proper compilation). Living Era’s centerpiece is Chico O’Farrill’s five-part “Afro-Cuban Jazz Suite,” which features alto sax virtuoso Charlie Parker and conga master Chano Pozo. This scintillating sampler would be an excellent choice for a single-disc dose of Machito. As it shares only three titles with Pablo’s outstanding Mucho Macho collection, the two may co-exist nicely in your collection. Taken in combination with Proper Box 48, they would add up to a stimulating stash of vintage Cuban bop. by arwulf arwulf…(メーカーインフォより)

go top